Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

...

Click the Delete Layer button to delete the currently selected layer. A dialog box will show up and ask for confirmation.

Once a layer is deleted, it cannot be restored without reloading a previous version of the level, or re-importing the layer if it was external.

...

Setting

Description

Visible

Does the same thing as the layer hide/show icon. See below for more information.

Frozen

Does the same thing as the layer freeze/unfreeze icon. See below for more information.

Export Layer Pak

 

Default Loaded

This layer will be loaded by default.

External

When this checkbox is enabled, the layer will be stored as a separate .lyr file on disk, enabling better use of version control systems.
The layer will automatically be exported when your level is saved, and imported on loading.
Un-checking this box will make the layer part of the .cry file again and the external .lyr file will no longer be updated. External layers are indicated by an underlined layer name.

Export to Game

When this checkbox is enabled, the layer will be exported to the game when you use File -> Export to engine.
Un-check this if you don't wish to see the objects contained in the layer in pure game mode.

Brushes Have Physics

Brushes within a layer with this disabled will not have physics. This is good for distance background objects to save on performance.

...

By default any object is placed in the layer "Main", unless you have selected another from the layers menu.

If a different layer is selected from the Layers tab, any objects added to the level will automatically be assigned to that layer.

...