Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 7 Next »

Creating and Using Layers

You can find the Layer Tab on the RollupBar. On the Layer's tab are a few useful buttons and the layer list. By default, the level's objects will be located in the "main" layer.

Creating a New Layer

To create a new layer, click the New Layer button. After clicking on it, a dialog box will be displayed:

Be sure to enter a useful and recognizable name for your layer, possibly indicating its function or a description of what it contains. For example "beach area" or "sounds". In the dialog box you can also specify if the Layer is visible by default, external, will be exported to the game, or frozen by default.

Deleting a Layer

Click the Delete Layer button to delete the currently selected layer. A dialog box will be displayed and ask for confirmation. Once a layer is deleted, it cannot be restored without reloading a previous version of the level, or re-importing the layer if it is external.

Renaming a Layer

Click the Rename Layer button, which opens a dialog box that allows you to rename the currently selected layer.

Exporting a Layer

Click the Export Layer button to open the browser window, allowing you to export your layer to a file. Make sure your layer file has the .lyr extension to it. This layer file can be imported into other levels, if required.

Importing a Layer

Click the Import Layer button to import a layer that was exported previously. Locate your layer using the browser window.

Assigning Objects to Layers

When you have more than one layer in your level, you can assign a specific layer to your objects. Select an object and look at its Entity settings on the RollupBar. Click the Layer button to select a different layer. The image below shows a SpawnPoint entity selected, and the Layer's button selected on the RollupBar.

By default any object is placed in the layer "Main", unless you have another selected from the layers menu. If a different layer is select from the Layer's tab, any objects added to the level will be automatically asigned to that layer.

Hide/Show and Freeze/Unfreeze Layers

After assigning layers to your objects and entities, there are a few additional ways to manage them. Go to the layer list in the RollupBar.

Toggling the eye icon will hide/show the objects in that layer.

Toggling the arrow icon will allow interaction with objects when the icon shows (objects are unfrozen), and disallow interaction when the icon is hidden (objects are frozen).

Double clicking on an icon will make all layers change their state of hide/show or frozen/unfrozen, depending on which icon was selected.

Layer Settings

To enter layer settings, select your layer then right click on the layer name. The same dialog box as for creating a new layer will be displayed. Change the settings and click OK.

Setting

Description

Visible

Does the same thing as the layer hide/show icon.

Frozen

Does the same thing as the layer freeze/unfreeze icon.

External

When this checkbox is enabled, the layer will automatically be exported when your level is saved, and imported on load. The layer will now function externally to the .cry file, and can be edited independently. Unchecking this box will make the layer part of the .cry file again, and the external .lyr file will no longer be updated.

Export to Game

When this checkbox is enabled, the layer will be exported to the game when you use File/Export to engine. Uncheck this if you don't wish to see the objects contained in the layer in pure game mode.

  • No labels