Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 21 Next »

Using Layers

Layer Control

Objects like brushes and entities can be placed on layers which are basically a mechanism to group objects logically. Each layer can be stored as a separate .lyr file on the hard disk. Having the layer files stored separately on disk allows to do collaborative editing, since the layer files can be checked in individually in a revision control system like Perforce.

You can find the Layer Tab on the RollupBar. On the Layers tab are a few useful buttons and the layer list. By default, the levels objects will be located on the "main" layer.


Note: In the screenshot that several layers have an asterisk after them. This shows layers that have had changes made to them.

Creating a New Layer

To create a new layer, click the New Layer button. After clicking on it, a dialog box will be displayed:

Be sure to enter a useful and recognizable name for your layer, possibly indicating its function or a description of what it contains. For example "beach area" or "sounds". In the dialog box you can also specify if the Layer is visible, is frozen, Export Layer Pak, Default Loaded, is external, will be exported to the game, or Brushes Have Physics.

Deleting a Layer

Click the Delete Layer button to delete the currently selected layer. A dialog box will show up and ask for confirmation. Once a layer is deleted, it cannot be restored without reloading a previous version of the level, or re-importing the layer if it was external.

Renaming a Layer

Click the Rename Layer button which opens a dialog box that allows you to rename the currently selected layer.

Exporting a Layer

Click the Export Layer button to open a Save As dialog, allowing you to export your layer to a file. Make sure your layer file has the .lyr extension to it. This layer file can be imported into other levels, if required.

Importing a Layer

Click the Import Layer button to import a layer that was exported previously. Locate your layer using the Open File dialog.

Layer Settings

To change layer settings, right click on a layer and select Settings in the popup menu. The same dialog box as for creating a new layer will be displayed. Change the settings and click OK.

Setting

Description

Visible

Does the same thing as the layer hide/show icon.

Frozen

Does the same thing as the layer freeze/unfreeze icon.

Export Layer Pak

 

Default Loaded

This layer will be loaded by default.

External

When this checkbox is enabled, the layer will be stored as a separate .lyr file on disk, enabling better use of version control systems. The layer will automatically be exported when your level is saved, and imported on loading. Unchecking this box will make the layer part of the .cry file again and the external .lyr file will no longer be updated. External layers are indicated by an underlined layer name.

Export to Game

When this checkbox is enabled, the layer will be exported to the game when you use File -> Export to engine. Uncheck this if you don't wish to see the objects contained in the layer in pure game mode.

Brushes Have Physics

Brushes within a layer with this disabled will not have physics. This is good for distance background objects to save on performance.

Assigning Objects to Layers

When you have more than one layer in your level, you can assign your objects to a specific layer. Select an object and look at its Entity settings on the RollupBar. Click the Layer button to select a different layer. The image below shows a Particle entity selected, and the Layer's button selected on the RollupBar.

By default any object is placed in the layer "Main", unless you have selected another from the layers menu. If a different layer is selected from the Layers tab, any objects added to the level will automatically be assigned to that layer.

Hide/Show and Freeze/Unfreeze Layers

After assigning layers to your objects, there are a few additional ways to manage them. Go to the layer list in the RollupBar.

Toggling the eye icon will hide/show the objects on that layer.

Toggling the arrow icon will allow interaction with objects when the icon is visible (objects are unfrozen), and disallow interaction when the icon is hidden (objects are frozen).

Double clicking on an icon will make all layers change their state of hide/show or frozen/unfrozen, depending on which icon was selected.

Grouping Layers (Child Layers)

To group layers, simply hold CTRL and drag one layer onto another. The layer that is dragged will then become a child layer of the layer you dropped it onto.

To ungroup the layers, hold CTRL and drag the layer you wish to ungroup into the empty space below (or the very bottom of the layer list). It will then be released back into its own main layer.

Grouped Layers

Ungrouped layers

UserSpecificData

When saving a level, a new folder and file are stored inside the level folder. This will be something like Game\Levels\<Level>\<Level>_editor\userSpecificData.xml. This file is used to store layer settings (frozen/hidden) for the level and having this file external to the .cry file allows for more flexible settings between multiple users who may be working on a level.

  • No labels